Repossessed Homes and Listings of Government Repo Homes

Select a State:

Repo Homes Information

Bank Repo Homes

Analysts have found a considerable gap between the numbers of homes not sold at foreclosure auctions and those taken by banks with the number of bank repo homes that have been listed for sale on the market.

Bank Repos

Bank repos are residential houses that have been taken over by the bank after completing the foreclosure process. Lenders resort to foreclosures to accrue unpaid dues from the borrowers. Foreclosure rules vary from one state to another. States can choose to allow either judicial or non-judicial foreclosure lawsuit in their respective territories.  Judicial foreclosures usually take longer than non-judicial foreclosures.

Repo Homes For Sale

Oftentimes, a buyer fails to repay the mortgage loans he has taken out, which results in the lender taking away his property. The lender, in order to recover his lost money, holds a public auction for the property and sells it to the highest bidder. The properties, which are auctioned, are called repo homes and the ones the highest bidder purchases are called repossessed homes.

Repo Homes Listings

Discrepancies have been found in repo homes listings by many data collecting firms. Realtors also believe the same thing. Realtors and data collecting firms say that, after banks takes over foreclosed homes, the repo home listings do not always show all the properties that are acquired by the bank. The rule is that, within three months, the foreclosure should show in the books as being sold or having become repossessed by the bank.

Repo Houses

Repo homes are houses that have been repossessed by the bank after they are foreclosed. The numbers of repo houses have been increasingly in recent years. Today the number of repo homes has extended into the millions.

New York Vermont Maryland District of Columbia New Jersey Rhode Island New Hampshire Pennsylvania Maine Massachusetts Delaware West Virginia Virginia Georgia Michigan Florida Alaska MISSISSIPPI North Carolina Kentucky South Carolina Nebraska Indiana Alabama Arkansas Tennessee Missouri Illinois Ohio Kansas South Dakota Wisconsin Oklahoma Iowa Minnesota Louisiana Texas North Dakota New Mexico Colorado Wyoming Montana Idaho Utah Arizona Nevada California Oregon Washington Connecticut Hawaii